Twisted-Liquid Pro GFX
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Graphic Design

HomeGalleryLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in
Jandel122 takes the first place trophy with his great logo! thanks everyone for participating!

How i sprite, Basic and Effective techniques for a range of simple sprites.

Go down 
+3
jandel122
Twisted-Liquid
Michael pw
7 posters
AuthorMessage
Michael pw

Michael pw

How i sprite, Basic and Effective techniques for a range of simple sprites. Empty
PostSubject: How i sprite, Basic and Effective techniques for a range of simple sprites.   How i sprite, Basic and Effective techniques for a range of simple sprites. EmptyThu Dec 03, 2009 2:27 pm

Hi!

Im fairly new to spriting and i only really started spriting alot when i discovered a really good trick!!

Isometric:

I draw a base sprite in the Game Maker image editor. Isometric works by going to pixels wide for every one you go up. I then add features to the sprite like wall patterns and pillars...

I then colour in the sprite using solid colours, no shading at all.

I copy the sprite into Macromedia Fireworks 8 and use the Burn tool and the dodge tool to render Light and to shade the picture.

STEP 1: - Drawing base sprite

How i sprite, Basic and Effective techniques for a range of simple sprites. Archeryrange

STEP 2: - Colouring

How i sprite, Basic and Effective techniques for a range of simple sprites. Archery2

STEP 3: - Render

How i sprite, Basic and Effective techniques for a range of simple sprites. Archeryrender

Platform:

I just draw a solid Sprite in Macromedia Fireworks 8 using the line tools, shape tools and the ink pen tool to curve the lines. I then create another layer which i place behind this and use the brush tool to fill in the sprite. I then mask it so any of the brush that goes over the edge doesn't show. Then i use the burn tool and the dodge tool to render it.

THIS IS AN EXAMPLE BACKGROUND: